The Daddy – Daughter Rose Bowl


Recently my Dad, Mark Aalto, surprised me with something that means so much to me and always will: he took me on a trip. When my Dad took me on this trip it reminded me of the gift we have – love and time to spend with each other. He surprised me with tickets to the Rose Bowl on Christmas morning. On New Year’s Eve we arrived at the LAX, got a taxi, and then drove to our hotel on Aviation Blvd. On the next day we called a taxi and asked for it to take us to the Rose Bowl. We were dropped off about 7 miles away from it because of The Rose Parade barricades. This gave my Dad and me about 7 miles of time together. Walking. To the Rose Bowl.

We heard that some of our close friends were also going to the game, so we went on a treasure hunt looking for them in a big unknown place, going through mazes of Florida St. fans and Oregon fans. We finally found them and pulled ourselves together before the game, getting refreshments, playing some catch with our friend’s football, and massaging our sore feet. By the time we started to walk to the game I was about ready to explode!

We said goodbye to our friends at the gates of the huge football field. Dad and I got some cool lanyards which held our tickets, and then went into the most impressive football field I have ever seen. We sat down in seats 112 and 111 in row 14 A. We took pictures and videos and watched as the Florida St. fans in front of us showed their GREAT support for the Ducks. I was texting my friends throughout the game to keep them updated and I’m not kidding when I say that every time I put my head down it seemed that the Ducks got a touchdown. It was warm when we got to the game, but by the time the game was done; well let’s just say that we were both shivering and completely lost in the golf cart trails. Eventually we found our way back to our friend’s car, then showed up and drove us back to our hotel.

I loved the time that I got to spend with my dad and I wouldn’t trade it for anything, even though we did get sick on the trip. It was the best experience I could ask for. My Dad took me to my first football game and guess what? WE WON!

– Gabriella Aalto, Age 12

mark and ella2     mark and ella3

mark and ella

Leave a Reply

