Goodbye 2014 – Hello 2015!


We are half way through January today, and I wanted to share the letter I sent out in December as a little reminder of the fire that most of us have at the beginning of the new year but quickly can fade out. Remember – Stick with your goals, work hard, and be true to yourself!

“He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life”

– Muhammad Ali

The holidays always seem to bring out a lot reflective thoughts both personally and professionally. As I think back over this past year, one word can sum it all up – Change.

As you know, earlier this year I made a decision to change companies and open up my own branch. This decision wasn’t made lightly, and came with more challenge than I prepared for. I lost a few relationships with referral sources, several clients, and a lot of quality time with my family. These lost relationships were people I genuinely cared for, and the time I lost with my wife JJ and daughter Ella over the summer months is time that can’t be replaced. However in the midst of all of this loss, I have found myself drowning in blessings. The ability to do what I love most – truly help people and the flexibility to problem solve, is at my fingertips every day. I have met new people that truly committed themselves to our team. The loyalty, unconditional love and understanding I’ve received from my family and friends has been the solid ground that I can stand on and last but not least, the team or “work family” that has encircled me is one of a kind.

I have found no matter how painful, scary, or uncomfortable I have been this last year navigating this new world I am confident – isn’t that a weird place to be? It seems like a contradiction, but this is the time for me to use any pain and fear as fuel and a reminder to continually better myself as a man and leader. I have embraced the change and the challenge and know whole heartedly – I will not fail.

It is truly my hope that if you find yourself standing at a fork in the road personally or professionally you will have the courage to embrace the change and go after what you want. 2015 is around the corner and I want to echo the words of Robin Sharma and hope that they find you in the perfect time. “Don’t live the same year 75 times and call it a life.”

Have a wonderful holiday season, and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

