Take Me Out to the Ballgame


Baseball has always been a big part of my Dad’s life.  Both he and his younger brother were quite the baseball players back in the 1950s and earned the nicknames “Thunder” and “Lightning” for their prowess on sandlots throughout the Seattle area.  Like most kids, my Dad had aspirations to play in the big league someday.  But rather than turning double plays and running the bases, he instead became a university professor, turning in his glove and bat for textbooks and Hamiltonian Graph cycles. Capture

Last month my Dad and his wife flew in from Australia to visit with family and friends all over the West coast.  Visits these days have become less frequent due to busy schedules and the logistics caused by the long plane ride between the Pacific Northwest and the “land down under.”  When my Dad found out the Mariners were playing Texas, we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to attend a game for the first time together.  Truth be told, it was my very first time attending a professional baseball game of any sort.

Like any good baseball fans, we had a beer or two, high-fived for the good plays and shook our heads in dismay at the bad ones.  I can’t say that I’ll ever have a high baseball IQ but the experience of watching a game with my Dad at Safeco field is one that I won’t ever forget.

In 2014 I plan to take my daughter to a game and give her the opportunity to experience firsthand what it’s like to watch a game at an amazing venue.

Hope you are having a great summer.  As you know, all of our business is based on word of mouth.  If you know of anyone else that we can help with purchasing or refinancing a house please have them give us a call.

Leave a Reply

