Being Thankful


A roast turkey prepared for a traditional U.S....
Image via Wikipedia

I’m pensive this morning.  On the one hand, I look outside and see the wind blowing rain sideways and my first reaction is how lucky I am to be inside where it is warm and dry.  My daughter is sitting across from me and we’re talking about what Thanksgiving means to the two of us as we listen to 80s hits on Pandora.  Irony of ironies, Maddona’s “Material Girl” is playing – I can’t necessarily say this is consistent with the message of Thanksgiving and the overall gratitude we feel for our lives, our health, our family and the opportunities that are present to us.  The juxtaposition is somewhat odd.

If anything, I believe that it is important to remain thankful and appreciative of the many opportunities available to us throughout the entire year.  Not just at Thanksgiving.  Sure, we live in uncertain times and nothing is guaranteed.  But the fact remains that we have the freedom to make choices on a daily basis.  This is something to be celebrated.  Whether our choices are for good or ill, we have the freedom to make them in the first place.

I am so very thankful for my wife and my daughter and for the lives we have been able to build together here in Portland, Oregon.  I am a truly lucky man.  I remain optimistic that I can honor these opportunities and live my life with purpose.  I hope you feel the same way.

To my friends and family, thank you for the time we get to spend together.  It means the world to me.  To my business partners and customers, thank you for the opportunities that you provide my family.  I am so very privileged to work with you.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.  Now go easy on the stuffing.

2 thoughts on “Being Thankful

  1. We are thankful to know you Mark. Hope you and JJ and your entire family have a fun and restful Thanksgiving!

    Sincerely, Ray & Becky

    “Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good. His love endures forever.”
    ~Psalm 136:1

Leave a Reply

