Router Nerd


Apparently it’s possible to get obsessed with wireless networks.  If you were to open my computer drawer in the basement at this point I believe you would find two or three different routers.  I think I may have half a dozen different versions of wireless receivers as well.  It’s a bit embarrassing to tell the truth.  I’m worried my wife may need to do an intervention before I start using Excel to plot out all aspects of life.

It truly started out innocently – we needed to find a way to get an internet connection to a laptop or two in other regions of the house.  And it worked great – until we started noticing there were some “dead” areas of the house where the signal was either weak or non-existent.  And so the experimentation began – 2.4GHZ or 5.0GHZ, wireless b, g and then n.  A variety of contraptions even including the picture at the top of the page.

So far I haven’t tried placing any items on the roof or doing anything completely embarrassing to family members.  No one (other than the two of us, trust me) knows that I have a signal strength strong enough at this point to pick up wireless networks from the entire block.

And what do I really want to do with this bandwidth?  Quite frankly, I want to watch a few Football games on ESPN3 from time to time.  That’s it.  My obsession is all about sports.  And there you have it – complete transition from nerd to sports fan.  I would say that it took only a few steps but in reality it took several routers, multiple calls to customer support, an hour of researching stuff on the internet and making an antennae out of tin foil and cardboard.

Have a great day and I hope your router signal indicates “excellent” but I can help you if it doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

