Goodbye Chris


We lost a wonderful man yesterday.  I’m still trying to grasp the finality of death as it applies to Chris Kent.  Each time I begin a sentence I find myself starting over because somehow the tense feels wrong.  In other words, my thoughts and sentences are all “past tense” and this strikes me as a powerfully sad thing.  It also strikes me as a “wrong” sort of thing as well.

24 hours is a short period of time and I’m sure that as time goes by our response to the loss of our friend will change and evolve.  I suppose that’s only natural.  But at the same time, the loss itself is profound and so too will be our reaction.

Each of us was touched by our relationship with Chris and by the gifts that he shared with us.  I know that I can speak only for myself, but as we have all shared similar experiences during our friendship with Chris, I thought I would share what my reflections have been so far.

I will strive to be a better father, husband and friend.  Whatever gifts I possess, I will do my best to share them freely with others.  Our friend has passed but he leaves a legacy of music, of kindness, humility and joy.  Maybe what was so powerful about Chris was the way he lived the things that we all strived to incorporate into our own lives.

I will really miss Chris.  I will never forget his kindness, his smile, his laugh and his amazing talent.

Goodbye Chris.  It was such an honor to be your friend.

One thought on “Goodbye Chris

  1. Goodbye……..Until we meet again! That is the hope we have!

    “I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge – myth is more potent than history – dreams are more powerful than facts – hope always triumphs over experience – laughter is the cure for grief – love is stronger than death.”
    ~Robert Fulghum

Leave a Reply

