Planning a Vacation?


Cover of "Tommy Boy (Holy Schnike Edition...
Cover of Tommy Boy (Holy Schnike Edition)

At this point, I’m a little worried my wife and I may end up tipping cows in Sun Prarie, Wisconsin on our vacation next month.  Understand that our bovine adventure to be is not an attempt on my part to recreate portions of Tommy Boy (one of my favorite movies of all time).  Rather, it’s the result of not being able to find that perfect combination of warmth, proximity and affordability.

Trying to book a vacation online has been an interesting experience.  We found a few “deals” and/or packages that looked great on the surface but became a logistical mess upon greater scrutiny.  With roughly five days in total for our time away, it’s been a bit of a challenge to find something that truly works.  Flying out of the country to an isolated atoll in the Southern Pacific sounds great until taking a look at the travel time, cost and complications involved.  “Hey honey, sure is great to be here.  Wow, look at that tortoise over there.  Whoops, time to catch a flight back.”

Last week my wife and I decided to get help from AAA.  And no, don’t take an “A” away there or we’ll start hearing something along the lines of “Hi, my name is Mark Aalto and I am completely incompetent at booking a vacation.  It’s been two years since I’ve had a real vacation.”  A group of permanent tourists dressed in khaki shorts and flowered shirts would clap politely while shaking their heads and thinking to themselves that I’ll never make it – another intervention will be necessary lest I spend the rest of my vacations at a Hotel 6 in some backwaters town.

Here’s to hoping there is a sandy beach somewhere with our names on it, that we can get some rest from the craziness of life and that we don’t end up as another convert to the underground sport that is cow tipping.

Leave a Reply

