Day of the Dentist


Area dentist working with students in dental c...
Image via Wikipedia

I know of a few people out there that are terrified of going to the dentist.  A previous co-worker I know had avoided going for a number of years and as each year would pass I would wonder what the state of her teeth would have to get to before she finally went in.  I imagined her as one of those people you occasionally meet in life with sunken jaws that make constant puckering motions and appear poised to swallow their own nose.  Not a pretty sight.

For whatever reason, the dentist and the barber both put me to sleep.  And no, I don’t mean that I am so difficult to deal with that they literally knock me out.  Us Loan Officers are a fearsome bunch but not to the point of requiring nitrous oxide when dealing with personal hygiene.

A few years back I scheduled a filling on the same day that I had to make a speech.  Not wanting to reschedule the dentist appointment or the speech I had the work done without the benefit of any pain-killer.  Not the smartest one, this Loan Officer.  No sir.  A smart person would cancel one (or both) events and call it good.  So for all of you folks that are scared of the dentist, I can totally relate.  However, with the proper allotment of judgment (mine was clearly lacking) and painkillers (enough to just about kill a bear while still keeping a human being sentient) even a filling doesn’t need to be that big of a deal.

So I’m off in a couple of minutes to what I hope will be a routine cleaning.

I’ll try to stay awake.

Have a great day everyone and remember to floss.

 

Leave a Reply

