Field Day 2011


A float in the 2008 Grand Floral Parade of the...
Image via Wikipedia

Today is field day at Ella’s school and it’s almost Rose Festival time. Any learned climatologist would tell you these two events intertwined together are a recipe for disaster. We’re talking cyclones, tornadoes, torrential rains etc. Maybe even a plague of locusts. And yet, I’m looking out my window this morning and it’s absolutely gorgeous outside. Lucky kid.

It’s somewhat reassuring that in this day of tweeting and texting and iphones and ipods that there is still this time-tested ritual of field day at school. True, no one likes getting absolutely pummeled by that fifth grade class that seems to have all the kids with berserk pituitary glands that are 6’9″ at the age of 10. At the same time I have always looked back at the end of the school year and the accompanying field day that went along with it as being a good memory. I’m sure I have a lot of really tall friends to thank for that.

It’s hard for me to accept that my daughter is less than two weeks away from being done with third grade. This school year has been a blur for us as a family, filled full of school projects, swim meets, girl scout events, school concerts and more. I’ve come to the conclusion that this year I’m looking forward to the change of pace that Summer brings as much as my daughter is. Maybe even more.

I read just the other day that it has been so miserable and cold this Spring that there are no rose petals for the upcoming rose festival floats. I’m not really sure what to make of this news. It would seem truly odd to have to import flowers from another region for a festival celebrating the roses here in our city. Stranger things have happened I am sure.

As I’m writing my last sentence or two, I’m looking out the window and realizing the blue sky is gone and clouds are once again descending on an unsuspecting field day. I hope the locusts stay away.

Leave a Reply

