Goodbye Riley


There comes a time when we have to say goodbye to even our most precious friends and family members. Riley, our family dog, lived a full life. She was a wonderful dog and I still can’t believe that we were able to have her in our lives for fifteen years. She wasn’t perfect, to say the least – there were all sorts of crazy things that she did that at times drove us completely bonkers. But, she was the best dog I have ever had and she was special to a lot of different people that knew us.

I’m going to depart from my normal posts and this time let my daughter take over. These are her words that she wrote in memory of her special friend, Riley.

“Riley was my sister and she had a long life. She could stay awake every night watching me sleep peacefully. I was a girl who loved Riley but I knew as a kid it would not be easy to let her go. Years passed and Riley stayed with me. She slept near my bed, licked me every night and even walked with me to the bus stop. . . but not any more. Riley had three seizures this last Saturday and then things started to change. She couldn’t walk or get up – she could only sit there on the bed sleeping. When I got to school on Tuesday I called my Dad two times. When I got home I got the bad news. Riley was telling us she had to leave. All of my family said goodbye to our sweet Riley girl. She got the sleeping shot and ate five treats. I gave her one. Then the other shot came and went. I was heart broken but nothing could make her comfortable. She had to go.

The last words I said to her was I love you and will see you in my dreams. That is the story of Riley.”

Rest in peace Riley – we will miss you.

3 thoughts on “Goodbye Riley

  1. Well, Mark, you know my love for pets. I’m sorry for your loss but I’m so glad that you got to have many happy years with her. I’m proud of Ella for being so mature and understanding it was Riley’s time to go. I hope she’s in doggie heaven playing with my beloved Beau. 🙂

  2. Mark, this is so sweet. It brought tears to my eyes! It’s definitely hard to “let go”. Sounds like your family all came together to celebrate her life and let her rest in peace. My heartfelt best wishes…..jj

Leave a Reply

