2010 Almost in the Rearview Mirror


I’ve always enjoyed reading about historical events but I’m not so sure how much fun it is to actually live through one. Now that we are at the end of 2010, I can’t help but think that this economy, this environment, this shared experience is one that will very likely be a defining moment for our generation. I have no doubt that like our parents and grandparents before us we will look upon the horizon and see a brighter future. And yet, it’s been challenging hasn’t it?

Several events during 2010 have made it a very memorable year for my family and me. After working at First Pacific Mortgage for almost 12 years, I decided to make a major career/life decision in February and switched to a new company – Pacific Residential Mortgage. It’s been a really good move and I love the company and the people I work with. The owners and employees alike are dedicated to truly serving the needs of our customers. Additionally, the company has done a very good job of staying on top of a myriad of new issues and regulations. I am very blessed to work with such a proactive organization that is truly looking out for the best interest of the consumers that we serve and the larger community around us.

Our wonderful daughter, Gabriella, continues to be involved with competitive swimming and received her first “A” time at a meet during the summer. She is now eligible to compete at the State level against the other top swimmers in her age group. We are very proud of her and very excited with what she has been able to achieve. She is a really busy and happy eight year old and it’s sometimes a bit daunting to try to keep up with her interests in music, girl scouts, writing and art. Fitting schoolwork into her schedule can also be a bit of a challenge but so far we seem to be able to manage it.

JJ and I celebrated our 17th anniversary this summer and it’s hard for me to fathom that we have known each other for almost 20 years. I look at our wedding pictures every once in a while and can’t believe all the changes and adventures we have experienced since that time. In September, JJ was offered a job as a first year teacher at Hayhurst elementary in SW Portland. It’s made for a lot of juggling of schedules and some compromises here and there but I can safely say that I have never been prouder of my wife. She is truly amazing and I am a very lucky man to be married to her.

I’m looking forward to another exciting year in 2011. I know there will be challenges along the way but I truly believe I work for an organization that will give me the tools and support needed to truly serve the needs of my clients.

I can’t thank you enough for your loyalty and support throughout the years. I promise to do everything I can to be a good resource to you and to your friends and family.

Leave a Reply

