And So It Begins. . .


So just how self-indulgent does it make me to start a blog online?  Don’t answer – I’m afraid I probably know the answer already.

I’ve seen a lot of blogs out there – some have been inspiring, some have been dull and others have been, well, um, quite forgettable.  A precious few have been outright scary.

When I first graduated from college I would often write myself random thoughts and ideas.   I suppose this comes from the combination of leaving a fairly structured environment (college) and feeling completely clueless as to what to do with my life and career (real life).  I don’t know that college ever truly prepares us for a vocation per se – it certainly didn’t prepare me for looking for a job.  I still have some of those random scribbles stored away somewhere in our home.  I don’t access them physically but I still remember (vividly) what it was like to go through that period of time. 

It took about a year to finally find a job and as it is with most people out there, the job came about through a series of seemingly random interactions and experiences.  In my case, I found a listing for a job with the Department of Housing and Urban Development at the local employment office.  I had absolutely no clue what I was getting into.  Fast forward 19 years later and I still don’t know if I quite understand the enormity of that decision all those years ago. 

I still have some of those random thoughts written down but they are stored away from prying eyes and it’s unlikely that I even know how to find them at this point.  I only mention this because I know there are a lot of people out there currently that are struggling to find a job.  These are tough times for many. 

In any case, I hope you are well and that whether by accident or by a careful chosen path, you have the chance to find a vocation that you are truly passionate about.

Leave a Reply

